The Woman in Red (1984)

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/1c/36/ff/1c36ff9be001e58769cedad9495d2d2f.jpg

 

SYNOPSIS:

On his way to work, Teddy spots Charlotte – an incredibly beautiful Woman in Red. He really wants to meet her – but what would his wife say?”

REVIEW:

Most people who know me would not know that from the time of it’s release in 1984 (I was just eight years old when seeing this at the cinema), that this was (and still is) one of my favorite guilty pleasures.

It is (and still remains) one of the only non-horror films in my top 3 films of all time, and will remain there for as long as I’m alive, I assure you.

There are many reasons for my love of this film,but I am guessing (who the fuck am I kidding – I know!) that the main reason is for it’s star Kelly LeBrock, who was a model before being chosen to play the role in this fantastic movie.

She was my first actress crush as a child, I joined her fan-club and everything, and I never even got a reply back still to this day!

I digress…

The film is charming, adorable in fact, and also stars Gene WIlder in his best film role. He plays Theodore Pierce (Teddy to his friends), and is his usual bumbling, soft-spoken and kind-nature self (some refer to him as a poor-man’s Woody Allen, but I’ve always considered Wilder much more of a talent than Allen, and with less of the bullshit too!).

Well 0ver two decades later, and I still adore Kelly LeBrock, have seen everything she’s been in (even tried writing to her again after Weird Science and Hard to Kill came out), but seriously, this is possibly her best role – she suites it more-so than anything else she’s been cast in (perhaps with the exception of Weird Science – but that’s a whole different review!).

I guess, being a remake of the old French classic Yves Robert film Pardon Mon Affaire, this film had a lot to live up to for film critics (who hated it). I disagree (please trust me on this).

If you need a good laugh, and to see the beautiful LeBrock in her prime, check this one out.

RATING:

10 out of 10 – CLASSIC

https://i0.wp.com/ancensored.com/files/images/vthumbs/k/d637edac4cb97c99693b626ef5a70d99_full.jpg

Leave a Reply

