The Return of the Living Dead (1985)

https://i2.wp.com/projectdeadpost.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/TheReturnoftheLivingDead.jpg

SYNOPSIS:

“When two bumbling employees at a medical supply warehouse accidentally release a deadly gas into the air, the vapors cause the dead to rise again as zombies.”

REVIEW:

Nobody I know loves The Return of the Living Dead quite as much as I do, I am very sure of this.

I remember sneaking into a cinema which was on the aireforce base with my older brother when I was nine years of age. The “cinema” (if you could call it that) was chock-full with the local punk and whatnot from our little town (I guess this was a fine outing for them, being in a small town there wasn’t much else around!).

We sat at the back, and I enjoyed every second of my 91 minutes of joy which this film brought. It made me laugh (this film essentially is comedy underneath everything else), and I am pleased to say it introduced me to a lot of very cool bands such as Roky Erickson, TSOL, SSQ, The Cramps, The Flesh Eaters, 45 Grave, The Damned, Tall Boys and The Jet Black Berries. (All of whom I still am a fan of and follow closely).

I loved the “zombies” in this film, they are still probably my favorite (along-side Lucio Fulci’s amazing creations, but that’s for another review).

This film never takes itself seriously, and you shouldn’t either, do yourselves a favor and track down this, along with it’s incredible soundtrack (which I owned on cassette back in the day).

 

RATING:

8 OUT OF 10 – I just wish it were longer!!

http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q80/trungcang/NL_36109/IMG/vdsq2rrcvnnSS2.png~original

 

 

 

1 thought on “The Return of the Living Dead (1985)”

Leave a Reply

