Candyman (1992)

https://thewolfmancometh.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/candyman-movie-poster-tony-todd-virgina-madsen.jpg?w=607&h=902

SYNOPSIS:

The Candyman, a murderous soul with a hook for a hand, is accidentally summoned to reality by a skeptic grad student researching the monster’s myth.”
REVIEW:
From the Master of terror Clive Barker, who brought to you the original Hellraiser flick comes Candyman, based on Barker’s story “The Forbidden”.
Quite honestly, when I first saw Candyman on it’s release in 1992, I was quite spooked by the premise of a being which is summoned by repeating his name five times in a mirror, and the thought that perhaps the being would appear breathing behind me with a rusty hook for a hand, ready to disembowel me – nasty stuff indeed, but I adored every minute of it.
I was familiar with Clive’s Hellraiser film, and loved that also, so I knew kind of what I was getting into with Candyman, but I was not prepared for just how chilling the overall tone and atmosphere of this film truly presented.
Bernard Rose truly did an amazing job capturing that, and props go to him for doing the genre justice.
Tony Todd who plays the Candyman has long been one of my favorite horror icons, along with Doug Bradley who plays the menacing Pinhead (whom I adore!), and in this role Tony truly gives it his all, his voice is menacing, creepy and very chilling indeed, and his overall presence when he is onscreen is quite discomforting, in a good way!
Kudos also has to go to star Virginia Madsen who truly gives a knockout performance as the terrified Helen Lyle. I confess I have not seen Virginia in much else, but am interested to see what else she has done after re-watching this. Her fear truly shows through in this, and she is not afraid to take her mind and body to places during this film which other actresses would have shied away from.
All in all, if you’ve not seen Candyman yet, pick it up as soon as possible, it is one of the best 90’s horror films, in an era when the genre was collapsing (in my opinion), this film saved it!
RATING:
8.9 out of 10 – A 90’s horror classic, written by a Master storyteller.

Leave a Reply

