Texas Hippie Coalition – Dark Side Of Black (2016)


Texas Hippie Coalition – Dark Side of Black



  1. Come Get It
  2. Angel Fall
  3. Shakin’ Baby
  4. Knee Deep
  5. Villain
  6. Into the Wall
  7. Dark Side
  8. Rise
  9. Hit it Again
  10. Gods are Angry


There’s really no easy way to say this – I fuckin’ hate try-hards.

There, it is out of the way now, we can get on with the review of this latest recording by Denison, Texas “metal” band Texas Hippie Coalition.

Previously, the band has put out four other titles, the last one being 2014’s “Ride On“.

I have heard “Ride on”, hated the damn thing to death, but was hoping that perhaps the band had maybe had a complete overhaul or something before recording this new album.

No such luck there, my friends.

Let me start off with the positives first… of which there is only one.

The album is only 40 minutes in length, which (in affect) is not even a positive, because this thing outstayed it’s welcome before the first track was even over for me.

“Come Get It” is the opening track, which they should have been trying to impress with, but failed miserably with generic, over-used guitar riffs which sound like a poor-man’s Black Label Society (which is both an insult to BLS, and the truth here, sadly).

Sadly, the rest of the album truly makes me cringe – TCM (as they are refereed to by their few follower fans) try to be a hybrid of Pantera/Black Label Society/Alice In chains/Limp Bizkit, and truly they’re nothing close to any of those bands (even if those bands are also quite bad).

I would not waste a fucking cent on this generic, supposed “Groove-Metal” genre album, it’s repetitive, non-inventive, sheepish department-store “rock” not metal in any true sense of the word.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, this is mine. You’ve been warned.



0.3 out of 10 – Avoid at all costs!




Angels of Liberty – Telepathine (2015)




Release : 2015

Label: Gothic Music Records

Genre: New-School Goth Rock


  1. Return of Empire
  2. The Glorious Shining Initiation Of The Head
  3. Love Still Remains
  4. Anaesthesia
  5. Touch The Daemon
  6. Sophia
  7. Leda
  8. Death To Wake Up
  9. Gears Of The Atom Man
  10. True Hallucinations
  11. Telepathine


Angels of Liberty consist of Voe Saint-Clare on Vocals & Synths,Scarlet Powers on Vocals & Synths and Echo Von Hammer on Machine Drums.

They hail from the U.K. and this is their follow up album to the debut “Pinnacle of the Draco” from 2012.

Taking 3 years to bring out a new album (after the successful Pinnacle of the Draco) may seen a feat for anyone, but this new album from Angels of Liberty delivers their trademark new school of Goth Rock very nicely.

Kicking off with a short intro (Return of Empire), the album quickly launches forward with The Gloruous Shining Initiation of the Head, a very traditional sounding Goth Rock track clocking in at 6:32 long.

This album really does not let up, it delivers track after track of perfection, both lyrically and musically. The whole thing is 54 minutes in length, and never outstays it’s very warm welcome at that length even.

Some of the influences I get from here are Sisters of Mercy (early First and Last and Always era), Fields of the Nephilim, Nosferatu, and Bauhaus. If you like any of these bands and have not yet heard Angels of Liberty, do yourself a favor and get this as soon as you stop reading, it’s worth every cent.



8 out of 10 – Almost perfect!


Aeon Sable – Hypaerion (2016)


RELEASE – 2016

Tracklist –

  1. … Hypaerion
  2. Elysion
  3. Laylah
  4. Garden of Light
  5. Of Cats and Mice
  6. White Snow
  7. Procession


Aeon Sable are a German Gothic-Rock band, formed in Essen in 2010.

Like many others, I loved Aeon Sable’s release last release in 2014 “Visionaers“. I know that some may consider them slightly “cliche” in the goth-rock world, but I enjoyed all of their previous releases, and this one is definitely up there with the best of 2016 so far for Gothic Rock albums.

After a rather lengthy introduction “…Hypaerion”, we are treated to “Elysion” which truly sets the tone for the rest of this 7 track affair.

Some may be put off by the lack of tracks on this release, but the whole thing clocks in at 52 minutes in length, which is quite long for a full-length nowadays, and this album never outstays it’s welcome in any way,shape or form.

Influences on this album include Fields of the Nephilim, (early) The Cure, Merciful Nuns, Angels of Liberty and Still Patient?. Aeon Sable are no copycats though, they do bring new elements to the table with each additionally track, and have a very nice psychedelic touch to their musical sound which makes them stand out from the masses.

If you enjoyed any of Aeon Sable’s previous releases, or just want to  hear some unique traditional Gothic-Rock (which is not really being produced too much these days), pick this release up and enjoy an hour (give or take) of brilliant music.


8 out of 10.


Chris Holmes – C.H.P.


Release – 2016


  1. Loser
  2. They All Lie and Cheat
  3. Way to Be
  4. Down in the Hole
  5. Shitting Bricks
  6. Get With It
  7. Let it Roar
  8. Born, Work, Die
  9. 502
  10. TFMF
  11. Shitting Bricks (Live)
  12. Let it Roar (Live)


Chris Holmes, former guitarist with W.A.S.P. brings us his new outing for 2016.

This follows up 2015’s “Shitting Bricks” album, and really this is probably best reviewed as a compilation or E.P. as such, as a lot of the tracks on here have appeared before (on various mediums), but I will review it independently.

Chris is an amazing axe-man, someone who disappeared for quite a number of years due to health reasons, but came back swinging in 2012 with “Nothing to Lose“, a self-released 10-track affair which blew people away.

This release is no different, it’s Chris Holmes, for gods sake. Loud, heavy and offensive, yet he does not give a fuck, which is part of Chris’s charm. If you do not like your music very raw, rough and ready, you probably won’t enjoy this.

I cannot help but draw comparisons to W.A.S.P., but that is obvious, Chris was the guitarist for them from 1982-1990, then again from 1996-2001 before venturing off on his own personal journey.

“They All Lie and Cheat” is hilarious, yet somewhat true, as is “Born, Work, Die” and “Shitting Bricks”. Chris tells things how he  sees them, and that’s fine by me, and should be with anyone else who’s familiar with his brand of music.


6 out o f 10